I May Be Retracting This Victory Dance Tomorrow

Our daughter just fell asleep before 10pm. I think only Snoopy can adequately capture how I feel about this moment:

We gave Zinashi a new medication for giardia tonight, and you’ll be pleased to know that I did not have to collect a toddler stool sample to get it. The doctor just listened to me and suggested we try this first before doing any further testing of toddler waste matter. Fantastic! Also, it is just one dose, so SUPER FANTASTIC!

Not so super fantastic was the part where I had crushed the tablets and mixed them into chocolate syrup, and our daughter hated it and pretty much frothed at the mouth as I scooped the chocolate syrup back in to make sure all the medication made it down her throat. Jarod was the one pinning her down, and it wasn’t pleasant for any of us. At the same time, there was something comical about me scooping and scooping and scooping the area around her mouth with my fingers, shoving it back into her screaming mouth, only to have it gurgle right back out again, this time mixed with a good deal of saliva and the snot that was running out of her nose. It was akin to trying to bail out the Titanic, but slimier. It felt ridiculous. But when all was said and done, and most of the medicine seemed to have retreated down her angry throat, I held her in my arms and gave her a bottle of milk to wash it all down, and she forgave me for the agony I’d just put her through. Now, if the medication will only relieve her other agony, then we can leave this bit behind us for good.

If that works out, I expect all of you to do the Snoopy dance with me.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I May Be Retracting This Victory Dance Tomorrow

  1. Kim

    Here are some other mix-in ideas for medicine (was it a tablet or liquid?): applesauce, yogurt, peanut butter, grilled cheese…

    • findingmagnolia

      It was 2 1/2 tablets. Luckily, we only have to do it once. I thought about yogurt, but she’s sort of hot and cold about it, and she always loves chocolate syrup.

      You know, until now.

      I will keep your other ideas in mind should we have to do this again. I think if it were a normal liquid med, she would be fine, as she usually loves those and wants to have some at every meal, like it’s dessert or something.

  2. Jen

    Oh poor chocolate syrup! let’s hope it doesn’t scar her from the stuff. or maybe that wouldn’t be just so bad..hehehe…
    You know you love somebody when you’re freely willing to deal with their snot and poop. Good on you Mama Mary and Papa Jarod!

  3. Karen

    Been there, done that too. Our battle lasted over several weeks with sticky white antibiotics. Not fun. I hope you don’t have to do this again any time soon. Bribes work when they get a bit older, but a three I found them to be useless.

Leave a Reply

