Just Skip to the End for the Video

First of all, a warm weekend welcome to all of you who have popped over from Girl’s Gone Child. Do you love the GGC Good Wear Days or what? I was super excited to win the necklace, but even more excited to see how many of you dropped in at Rebecca’s kind suggestion. Welcome, welcome, welcome!

I shall now commence talking about toddler stool samples.

Wait! Wait! Where are you going? Come back!

It’s not so bad, really. It will only be mentioned briefly, and in no detail. I promise. It’s just that Zinashi’s sleep troubles have returned. It was going so much better; twenty-four hours into the cycle of medication for her giardia, and it was like having a whole different kid at bedtime, one who would just snuggle in and let us rock her and fall asleep in half an hour or so, including books and some sips of milk. But now we are back to two hours, minimum, and it started creeping up on us when we ended the medication cycle. So my hunch is that the very short cycle of meds she was on did not completely get rid of the giardia. To know for sure, I have to collect a stool sample, and not only that, but I have to basically ask her doctor if we can go ahead and collect another sample and have it tested. That’s right; I am asking for the privilege of collecting my daughter’s waste in a plastic “hat” placed beneath the toilet seat (which she loves, by the way, the weirdo). I guess it’s just what you do for love. It’s not glamorous, but I’ll take it. I’ll take her, sleep troubles and all.

I mean, who wouldn’t, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Just Skip to the End for the Video

  1. Glo

    I don’t know enough about kids to know what age they can start dance classes and things like that – but looks like you have a mad wonderful dancer on your hands! 🙂

  2. Katy

    For some reason, I can’t watch the whole video, but I can see what a fabulous dancer she is, and how much she likes her pockets! So so cute. I know that our situations were very different, given the ages of our babies, but we dealt with almost a year of parasites (most of that time asymptomatic), and 8 months of never sleeping more than 2.5 hours at a time. Maybe not “never” but very close. People’s suggestions drove me nuts. I am in total agreement with you on the necessity of naps. 8 months of sleeplessness was really really awful, but at the end of it we ended up with children who take great naps and sleep 12 hours every nights. Maybe not “every” but very close. Don’t listen to anybody. (except me – ha!) Do what you think is right based on what you know about your daughter. Seems like that’s what you do. I like reading about it.

Leave a Reply

