Tuesdays with Old Lady Mary: An Introduction

For nearly two years now, I’ve been visiting an eccentric elderly woman weekly, usually on Tuesdays. From the very first visit, when I wore this pink hat, she declared that I was a model–sometimes fashion, sometimes super–and I have felt inclined to try to live up to her perception. So every week I choose a new outfit, and because her reactions have been so fantastic, I started taking a photo to document each outfit and her comments. I’m not sure who called her Old Lady Mary first, but it’s stuck in our conversations about her, and I assure you it is not a moniker born of disrespect. If we heeded her words, we would call her Rag Bag Mary, but that’s not necessary. We girls all love her, and I have taken particular joy in dressing up for her each week. Now I’ve got a sidekick to dress, so it’s even more fun. Today was our first day to visit the wonderful woman Zinashi will call Grandma Mary, and it went swimmingly. They took to each other like ducks to water. Zinashi talked about the peanut butter cup Grandma Mary gave her all the way home. (Mami! Chocolate! over and over again.) It was fantastic. Here is what we wore:

tuesday, november 23, 2010

Zinashi’s boots got a lot of positive attention, and the hood on her jacket made Grandma Mary declare that she looked “like a little Santa Claus or Mrs. Claus.” I was simply reprimanded for not dressing warmly enough. It’s okay; I understand. Someone else is prettier than me now.

tuesday, november 23, 2010

Click on the photos if you’d like to read more details about the outfits. And click back here if every Tuesday to see what we’ve been wearing for Old Lady Mary. Because of course we’ll be back every single Tuesday. We love Mary so; we just can’t wait!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tuesdays with Old Lady Mary: An Introduction

  1. I love the pick where Zinashi smile is so big! You’re right about her coming out of her shell more and more since day one. You ARE fashionable and I LOVE the jacket. I too take pictures of outfits that I feel are exceptional, but they’re just for me. 😉

  2. Kori Kimble-Anderson

    Okay Mary, all of those outfits are so stinkin’ cute! Even the ones on Zinashi…adorable!! That being said…it got me to thinking. Here I sit in my long sleeve grey t-shirt and my faded ripped Levi’s and you are probably rockin’ a cute cardigan and fantastic boots (even Zinashi dresses better than me;) I’m wondering if you offer “style services” (on a budget) for those of us who no longer remember how to dress ourselves. I’m in desperate need. If I need to photo-document the carnage for proof, I will 🙂

  3. Mary!!!!! I love you! And woohoo! You just won this week’s GWD necklace giveaway! Email me and I’ll get you hooked up, lady! Love to Zinashi!

Leave a Reply

