The Lucky Ones

When people hear our story, they like to say how lucky our daughter is. We hear it a lot. It wasn’t until Zinashi and I were on a walk through our neighborhood that we heard it the proper way. After spying us walking down the street, a kind neighbor introduced herself, asked a few questions about Zinash (age, adoption story, how long we’d been home, etc.) and looked me in the eye and said, “You are so lucky!” And we are. If anyone is lucky here, it’s Jarod and me. As for Zinashi, we will let her decide for herself how lucky she is. The story you read here is not so much Zinashi’s story as it is ours, and we stake no claim to her feelings or opinions as she grows up. This is the story of how we became parents. This is our wonderful daughter. And here, see, look, this is how life took a turn for the awesome when this little person showed up. We are so, so, SO lucky.

the cutest book on the shelf

Don’t you agree?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Lucky Ones

  1. Joe Sims

    What’s the Dewey Decimal Number for ‘cute as a button’?

    • findingmagnolia

      They are having to make up a whole new category for her. Does she belong in crafting, with other button projects? Or with home decor? It’s a challenge.

  2. Zinashi is incredibly adorable and yes, you two are so very lucky! I have so enjoyed reading your blog since seeing the link on Girls Gone Child. I check back every day! Your blog has become one of my favorites!

    • findingmagnolia

      Monica, you are too kind. I’m glad you’re here and that you keep coming back! I’m trying to update often to satisfy my daughter’s many adoring fans.

  3. Jen

    I’m the same as Monica. I’ve been following along since GGC.
    Your daughter is absolutely gorgeous and I think all of you are so lucky to have one another to call family. When I watched your first video, when you were holding her and talking to her and saying your names and she was just looking back at the two of you, I started to cry. She’s got that amazing sparkle in her eye. And you have the smile the says it all. And your husband has the creative eye to share it all with the rest of us.
    I’m thrilled for you!

    • findingmagnolia

      Thank you so much, Jen! We are indeed very, very lucky people. Jarod and I kept looking at each other in Ethiopia and going, “We TOTALLY got the best kid!” And then we felt sorry for all the other parents that missed out on this level of awesome.

  4. Hannah

    She is a beautiful little girl. You and Jarod are so very lucky and I enjoy reading all of the wonderful things that she is doing and how you are adjusting to being a family. Jarod and i have known each other since high school, and I think that this is just wonderful and look forward to more updates.

Leave a Reply

