On the Night Before Our Departure, A Letter to My Daughter

Dearest You,

Yes, YOU. Over there, with the silly face. Hi. Stop wandering off. I want to talk to you. Tomorrow, your daddy and I are getting on an airplane, and then one more airplane, and then we will be in your city. If you are sleeping when we get there, don’t worry! We will not wake you, and we will be there as soon as we can to see you in the morning. I can’t wait to put my arms around you, but even the thought of being in the same city as you makes my heart sing.

Tonight I am doing all the boring things that mamas do, all the things you’ll wait for me to finish doing so we can do whatever it is you like best. Maybe we will go to the park nearby, or maybe we will snuggle up and read a book. Or five books. I will read you to sleep every afternoon and every night if you will let me. We will read children’s books and grown-up books, poetry and plays. I can’t wait for that. Even if you can’t sit still for books sometimes, I will always wait for you to grow sleepy so I can enjoy reading with you.

We are so excited to finally get to you, Nola Z. McBride. We cannot wait until we can bring you home and shower you with kisses every single day until you tell us it’s embarrassing. And then we’ll still sneak up behind you and take you by surprise. We love you so; we cannot wait.

Love,
your mama

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

