No News is…No News

We are still waiting to find out if the other family will pursue adoption of the baby we inquired about. It’s been two weeks since we sent our request, so today I sent a little follow-up e-mail. I don’t want to be “that adoptive couple,” the ones who feel entitled and are always asking questions and just won’t get out of the way. I prefer to let things happen and not be too much trouble for anyone. After all, if this baby will be adopted by the other family, it will do no good if I’m being a total pain in the neck. We love our agency, and the last thing I want to do is cause extra headaches. At the same time, I want to confirm that we are still very interested in viewing the information if Little Miss is still waiting on her people. We could totally be her people! You know, if she needs some people. But if she no longer needs some people, that’s fine too! We are easy to please!

Ahem.

I would be lying if I said that waiting like this is a piece of cake. It is much easier to be a number on a list than to be wondering about one child in particular, knowing that the entire course of our lives could be changed by this one little face. I really was doing fine with waiting otherwise; it’s only been four months, after all. But this kind of waiting? Well, it’s harder. That’s really all there is to say about it.

In the meantime, we are continuing with projects and acquisition of nursery furnishings. I’ve got an envelope of cash with a short list on it headed to IKEA this weekend, and a can of white paint waits for me in the basement. Once all is said and done, there will be a sweet little side table painted white with bird paper Mod-Podged onto it, and an espresso colored table/shelf type thing will also be white. I initially was going to do a mixture of white and brown furnishings, but the walls are deep blue, and I’m putting up this fabric (in light yellow–the birds with cages) on one wall as wallpaper, so I feel like the furnishings really need to be on the bright side. Besides, there’s just something about white and blue together…see what I mean?

blue and white

I’m excited to see the nursery gradually come together. By mid-June we’ll have someone heading to IKEA for our larger items (crib and dresser), and then it will just be a little bit of work and the gradual plucking of things off our Amazon baby registry. Regardless of when we actually put a baby in there, I love the feeling that comes with completing a project, and it will feel good to have the bulk of it done.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “No News is…No News

  1. Joy

    Oh, I hear you on this one. I am most definitely the type to “stay out of the way” and try to let people do their business…but all the while I’m completely pre-occupied and driving myself crazy with wondering. I believe there is a time to act, and a time to let things unfold without my direct involvement, but I can NEVER tell when to do which. Also hear about people getting results by checking in, but yes…then I go back to not wanting to be pushy. Hope you strike the right balance, and hear something really soon! (Oh, and my waiting patiently took a little break today…which paid off in finding out something interesting…so I am feeling ok about taking a small bit of action).

Leave a Reply

