Aaaaand…IT’S BACK!!!

Well, that was quick. One week ago our dossier traveled to Washington, D.C. for authentication at the U.S. Department of State and the Ethiopian Embassy. We were told this could take a ten days to two weeks. It took one week. We are now officially a Waiting Family. This means that we start at the bottom of our agency’s waiting list and when we are the first people on the list whose criteria matches a child that arrives at one of the six orphanages our agency works with, that’s our baby. As mentioned before, we have requested a baby girl zero to twelves months old, and we are open to a variety of special needs. We have no idea how long this part will take; it really depends on who shows up at the orphanages and the criteria of those above us on the list.

A few nights ago, I couldn’t sleep, so I sat up making some plans for 2010. We will be as ready as possible whenever Miss Magnolia shows her beautiful face, but in my mind I am hoping for October 1 or after. This is largely related to financial goals that I have for us as a family. I know that a lot of moms who plan to go back to work after baby arrives find that it isn’t workable for them after all, so while I do plan to continue with my childcare work, I also want us to be in a position that we can financially handle it if my income is drastically reduced, even if we have to take out the maximum amount we’ve planned for as an adoption loan.

While we are waiting, I will be working on the baby’s room and picking up the things that I know we will need for the baby. Not only does this allow me to feel a little more financially secure (I panic a little bit when faced with the thought of submitting our last payment to our agency, plus making travel plans, plus making sure we have all the basic baby things we need), but it also helps me to plan for Magnolia’s arrival as a thing that is actually happening someday and not just some fantasy built on a foundation of paperwork. I am very much looking forward to this time, as we decorate her room and put her things where they are meant to go. We are so very excited to be a waiting family. We pray that time will fly between now and the day we bring our daughter home.

Finally, I would like to say a word of thanks to all of you who have helped us come this far. You are very much a part of Magnolia’s story and of our story as a family. Magnolia will surely feel an abundance of love and care as she comes home to the larger family of those who have helped us along the way. So thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You are amazing and wonderful and beautiful, and we are lucky to have you along for the ride.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Aaaaand…IT’S BACK!!!

  1. Liz

    Congrats on officially waiting!

  2. Gloeta Massie

    Everytime I read your blog – I cry. What an amazing, beautiful story you two, and soon three – are writing together.

  3. Wow…were you really DTE on 1/22? So were we!

  4. (Obviously I’m up much later than I should be, totally engrossed in your story told in phrases far more witty than I could muster).

Leave a Reply

