Got It!

Yesterday all the stars and planets aligned, and TA-DA! I have my doctor’s letter. Relief! Today we got another document, and Monday we will get one notarized and two more fresh off the KCPD printer, and that will be that for collection and notarization. Next up will be state certification, and then getting through immigration, and then the dossier will be complete, and we will officially be a waiting family.

Lately I’ve been feeling guilty when I tell people that we have requested the most sought after of all orphans, the Ethiopian baby girl. We are part of the problem, not part of the solution! OH NO! But our reason for requesting a baby is simply that we are just starting our family, and we feel that, for us, a baby is the right way to begin. The girl part, well…I have a lot of experience with children, and I do dearly love the boys I have cared for, but when it came to how I envisioned myself as a mother, a girl just seemed to be the right fit. That probably sounds terrible to those of you who have no preference and will gladly take whatever (um, whomever?) (still doesn’t sound right) you are given. The thing is that there are a lot of choices to be made when it comes to adoption, and our choice is for a baby girl. Frankly, I am not among the “as young as possible” crowd, and definitely not among the “perfectly healthy” crowd. This doesn’t make me better or more compassionate, it just makes me who I am, with my strengths and weaknesses on full display in a way that isn’t always very flattering.

We do intend to do this again someday, and hopefully from Ethiopia so that our children will share a common heritage. At this point I envision us with a second daughter, but older, perhaps joining us when she is four or five or six. But who knows? Perhaps things will have changed by then, or perhaps I will have changed by then, or maybe a little boy who needs his nose wiped will catch my eye, and that will be it. I remain open. Years ago when I thought about adoption, I assumed it would be an older child from Russia, perhaps of the non-blonde-haired-blue-eyed variety since everyone seems to be clamoring for those, while I prefer darker beauties. Later I imagined that it would be a girl from China, and yet here we are endeavoring to adopt a baby from a different continent altogether. Maybe Forrest Gump was right, and you really never know what you’re going to get. Honestly, I kind of like it that way.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Got It!

  1. Hi! a friend gave me the name of your blog because my husband and I are planning to adopt from Ethiopia too! We’re planning to start the process in the next couple months. Your blog is sure to encourage us along the way.

    • findingmagnolia

      Hi, Heather! When you get started, feel free to ask me anything and everything you need or want to know. Have you chosen an agency yet?

Leave a Reply

